Valencia History ….A Light Read for Days In The Diocese

The diocese of Valencia was founded in 527. It was originally a suffragan of the Archdiocese of Tarragona.

And certain signs are emerging of a Christian community in the fourth century. When martyred in Valencia San Vicente Martir, 22 January in the year 304, being a deacon of San Valero, bishop of Zaragoza, there was already a Christian community.

After the Muslim rule, the diocese was restored by King James I to reconquer the city in October 9, 1238, which enshrined the mosque of the city in Cathedral Church, dedicated to the Mother of the Lord in the mystery of Assumption great devotion of the monarch.

On October 11, 1470, Pope Paul II, declared exempt from any metropolitan jurisdiction valentina headquarters, making it directly under the administration of the Holy See (as until recently it was the Archdiocese of Barcelona, ​​before its division) and July 9, 1492 was elevated to the rank of metropolitan arhidiócesis by Pope Innocent VIII Alexander VI confirmed dignity.

In the second half of the nineteenth century and the first third of XX the archdiocese went through political and social tensions, the emergence of anti-clerical positions, which were increased during the Spanish Civil War, with one notable persecution of the church, with hundreds of martyrs, many of whom were beatified by Pope John Paul II on March 11, 2001, having cause for beatification is still open.

By Decree of the Sacred Congregation Hall in June 6, 1957 under the Concordat between the Holy See and the Spanish State in 1953, Valencia gave to the diocese of Orihuela-Alicante Jijona the vicariate, Villajoyosa and Callosa de Ensarriá and received in the same parish Ayora, of the diocese of Cuenca received the vicariate of Requena; of Segorbe-Castellón annexed the Ademuz, Alpuente and Chelva and ceded to it the vicariate of Villahermosa del Río, composed of twenty-seven parishes along the banks of the river and foothills Mijares.

In 2010, Carlos Osorio restructured again the vicariate and territorial vicarages to adapt to the new population and number of priests and foster a new missionary dynamism.

Twenty-six diocese presided over the bishops with the title, and forty-three archbishops since the Office was elevated to metropolitan.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.